The focus of the ISPR Conference on Microbial Photosynthesis will be photosynthesis in unicellular microbes, including anoxygenic phototrophic bacteria, cyanobacteria, and unicellular phototrophic eukaryotes. Thus, it will be somewhat broader than the ISPP in terms of organisms covered, but will be more focused in terms of the processes covered (photosynthesis and related metabolic pathways). We envision this conference covering photosynthesis from small time and spaces scales (e.g. electron transfer within reaction centers) to large scales (e.g. marine productivity and early evolution of photosynthesis).

ISPR is accepting abstracts for oral and poster presentations. For more information about the abstract submission please see

Topics include:

  1. Light harvesting & Antenna complexes
  2. Regulation of light harvesting
  3. Photochemical RCs and light-driven electron transfer
  4. Electron transfer proteins and mechanisms within cyclic & linear electron flow
  5. Electron transport & proton pumping: regulation & alternative pathways
  6. Carbon fixation, storage, and export
  7. Ecology and ecophysiology of phototrophs
  8. Phototropism & light sensing in phototrophs
  9. Evolution of photosynthetic proteins and mechanisms
  10. Symbioses & Endosymbioses
  11. Pigment and cofactor synthesis
  12. Biogenesis of protein-cofactor complexes
  13. New phototrophic organisms, pigments, processes
  14. Synthetic biology & metabolic engineering
  15. Systems biology & biofuels


           Cheryl Kerfeld
           Hannah Distinguished Professor of Structural Bioengineering
           Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
           Lab Website

            Alexandra Worden
           Senior Scientist
           Research and Development
           Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
           Lab Website

           Jonathan Zehr
           Distinguished Professor,
           Physical & Biological Sciences,
           Institute of Marine Sciences,
           University of California Santa Cruz
           Lab Website

           Jindong Zhao
           Institute of Hydrobiology, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Invited Speakers:

Donald Bryant (Pennsylvania State University)

Robert Burnap (Oklahoma State University)

Roberta Croce (VU Amsterdam)

John Golbeck (Pennsylvania State University)

Marilyn Gunner (City College New York)

Paul King (National Renewable Energy Laboratory)

Graham Peers (Colorado State University)

Gabriela Schlau-Cohen (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Wendy Schluchter (University of New Orleans)   

Philippe Tortell (University of British Colombia)

Iftach Yacoby (Tel Aviv University)

Jamey Young (Vanderbilt University)


ISPR Members or anyone interested in photosynthesis in plants may also be interested in another ISPR conference taking place in conjunction with Plant Biology 2018 in Montréal on July 14-18.  For more information, please see their website: